Doniphan County Education Coop #616 Regular Board Meeting May 17, 2023 6:15 pm

The Regular Board Meeting was called to order by President Sue Bartley at 6:15 pm.

(Call to Order)

A moment of silence was taken.

(Moment of Silence)

Steve Bowe and Nathan Geiger - Troy.

(Members Present)

John Gladhart- Doniphan West.

Sue Bartley-Riverside.

Pat McKernan- Troy Superintendent, Dr. Volora Hanzlicek - Doniphan West Superintendent.

Kristin Franken- Director, Sheila Marriott- Clerk.

Wes Keller - Doniphan West.

(Members Absent)

Barb Derrick- Riverside.

John Whetzal-Riverside Superintendent.

No Visitors

Steve Bowe made a motion to approve the agenda.

(Agenda)

Nathan Geiger seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

Nathan Geiger made a motion to approve the consent agenda.

John Gladhart seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

(Consent Agenda)

Patron Communications - none

Informational Items:

Director Report

Interviewing potential teachers and paras for the upcoming school year are currently underway. Teachers and paraprofessionals were recognized for teacher appreciation day on May 2nd. Elaine Noynaert is retiring after 37 years of service for DCEC. A retirement reception was held for Elaine on May 15th. Riverside's last day with students was May 12th. Paras and teachers worked the 15th-17th with the schools move. Doniphan West last day with students is May 17th, Troy's last day with students is May 23rd. Options are being looked at with Greenbush for a part-time social worker for the 2023-24 school year. Indicator 13 (secondary transition) and Indicator 14 (post graduation outcomes) have been completed and submitted to KSDE. IDEA VI-B, part 1 has been completed and submitted. This is the application for federal funds for the FY '24 school year. The second part of VI-B will open in June. Senate Bill 113 was briefly discussed.

Executive Session

Nathan Geiger made a motion to go into Executive Session for 30 minutes to discuss personnel matters pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under KOMA and discuss individual contracts pursuant to nonelected personnel exception under KOMA, the open meeting will resume at 6:53 pm. Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

(Executive Session)

The Superintendents and Director were invited to the executive session.

Nathan Geiger made a motion to go into Executive Session for 10 minutes to discuss personnel matters pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under KOMA and discuss individual contracts pursuant to nonelected personnel exception under KOMA, the open meeting will resume at 7:03 pm. Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

(Executive Session)

The Superintendents and Director were invited to the executive session.

Meeting resumed early at 6:58 pm.

Action Resulting from Executive Session

Kristin Franken recommended the board approve a teaching contract for Tracey Hazzard, pending Kansas Special Education licensure/certification. Steve Bowe made a motion to approve the recommendation. John Gladhart seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

Kristin Franken recommended the board approve a teaching contract for Andrew Dominguez, pending acceptance into the WSU Special Education High Incidence Alternative Certification program.

John Gladhart made a motion to approve the recommendation.

Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

Professional

Kristin Franken recommended the board approve ESY contracts for Morgan Helmstetter (ESY Teacher Contract) and Olivia Masters.

Nathan Geiger made a motion to approve the recommendation.

Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

Kristin Franken recommended the board approve a part-time Speech Language Pathologist (SLP Contract) contract for 2023-24 school year for Lauren Munger.

Nathan Geiger made a motion to approve the recommendation.

Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

Kristin Franken recommended the board approve the teacher resignations from (Teacher Resignation)

Courtney Noll and Levi Watts.

Steve Bowe made a motion to approve the recommendation.

Nathan Geiger seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

Classified

Kristin Franken recommended the board approve the resignations of para professionals (Para Resignation)

Megan Sommers, Alexis Studer, Mackenzie Christopher, and Levi Watts. Nathan Geiger made a motion to approve the recommendation.

John Gladhart seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

Kristin Franken recommended the board approve a paraprofessional contract for Sebastian (Para Contract)

Nathan Geiger made a motion to approve the recommendation.

Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

Kristin Franken recommended the board approve a ESY paraprofessional contract for Vanessa Collins.

Steve Bowe made a motion to approve the recommendation.

John Gladhart seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

Kristin Franken recommended the board approve a Drivers Ed paraprofessional contract for Audrev Hansen.

Nathan Geiger made a motion to approve the recommendation.

Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

Business

Kristin Franken recommended the board approve the 2023-24 paraprofessional handbook (Handbook Approval) changes as submitted.

Nathan Geiger made a motion to approve the recommendation.

Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

Kristin Franken recommended the board approve the 2023-24 Harris Maintenance Agreement. (Harris Agreement) John Gladhart made a motion to approve the recommendation.

Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

Adjournment

Steve Bowe made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:02 pm.

John Gladhart seconded. Motion carried (5-0).

(Adjourn)

(ESY Para Contract)

(Para Drivers Ed)

Sheila Marriott, Board Clerk Date

Page 3