Doniphan County Education Coop #616 Regular Board Meeting January 25, 2024 6:15 pm

The regular board meeting was called to order by President Sue Bartley at 6:15 pm.

(Call to Order)

A moment of silence was taken.

(Moment of Silence)

Steve Bowe and Nathan Geiger (arrived at 6:22 pm) Troy Zach Lee, Doniphan West Sue Bartley and Erin Shackelford, Riverside Pat McKernan, Troy Superintendent Jennifer Gatz, Riverside Superintendent (arrived at 6:18 pm) Kristin Franken- Director Sheila Marriott- Clerk (Member Present)

Brad McCauley, Doniphan West Dr. Volora Hanzlick, Doniphan West Superintendent (Members Absent)

(Patron Visitors)

Amy Conant

Erin Shackelford made a motion to approve the agenda.

Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

(Agenda)

Erin Shackelford made a motion to approve the consent agenda.

Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (4-0).

(Consent Agenda)

No Patron Communications

Organizational Items:

Establish Officers

Steve Bowe nominated Sue Bartley as President; Erin Shackelford seconded. Nominations ceased.

Sue Bartley nominated Nathan Geiger as Vice President; Steve Bowe seconded. Nominations ceased.

Steve Bowe made a motion to elect the nominees. Erin Shackelford seconded. Motion Carried (4-0).

Informational Items:

Director Report

January is Board Appreciation month. The board was thanked for all the support and time they have given to DCEC. The independent audit with Varney & Associates is complete with no issues. MOE was submitted to the state on December 18th. The December 1 count is underway, the current number of students serviced is 291. A copy of our updated Interlocal Agreement (Board approved in November) has been sent to KSDE. The board was updated on the Special Education Task Force meeting. The director recently spent the day in Topeka undergoing training for providing Legislative testimony through Greenbush. Riverside SLP's, Blair Halter and Lauren Munger, have designed and implemented a digital system for referring students for informal observations and the intervention support they provide.

Erin Shackelford made a motion to go into Executive Session for 10 minutes to discuss personnel matters pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under KOMA and discuss individual contracts pursuant to nonelected personnel exception under KOMA, the open meeting will resume at 6:37 pm. Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (5-0).

(Executive Session)

The Superintendents and Director were invited to the executive session.

Meeting resumed at 6:37 pm.

Erin Shackelford made a motion to go into Executive Session for 10 rd discuss personnel matters pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under KOMA and discuss individual contracts pursuant to nonelected exception under KOMA, the open meeting will resume at 6:47 pm. Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (5-0). The Superintendents and Director were invited to the executive session for 10 rd discussion for 10 rd discuss personnel exception for 10 rd discus	ion I personnel	(Executive Session)
Meeting resumed at 6:47 pm.		
Erin Shackelford made a motion to go into Executive Session for 5 m discuss personnel matters pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under KOMA and discuss individual contracts pursuant to nonelected exception under KOMA, the open meeting will resume at 6:52 pm. Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (5-0). The Superintendents and Director were invited to the executive sessions.	ion I personnel	(Executive Session)
Meeting resumed at 6:52 pm.		
Action Resulting from Executive Session.		
Kristin Franken recommended the board approve a paraprofessional contract for Amanda Smith. Steve Bowe made a motion to approve the recommendation. Nathan Geiger seconded. Motion carried (5-0).		(Action from Exec)
Kristin Franken recommended the board approve the resignation of Becky Martinez with regret. Nathan Geiger made a motion to approve the recommendation with r Steve Bowe seconded. Motion carried (5-0).		(Teacher Resignation)
Kristin Franken recommended the board approve the resignation of paraprofessional Bethanee Clark. Nathan Geiger made a motion to approve the recommendation. Erin Shackelford seconded. Motion carried (5-0).		(Para Resignation)
Kristin Franken recommended the board approve the FY '23 Independent Audit Report as presented. Steve Bowe made a motion to approve the recommendation. Nathan Geiger seconded. Motion carried (5-0).	dent	(Independent Audit)
Kristin Franken recommended the board approve the Maximum Insur Bond Renewal. Nathan Geiger made a motion to approve the recommendation. Steve Bowe seconded. Motion Carried (5-0).	rance	(Bond Renewal)
Kristin Franken recommended the board approve the December 2023 KASB Board Policy updates. Erin Shackelford made a motion to approve the recommendation. Zach Lee seconded. Motion Carried (5-0).	3	(KASB Policies)
Nathan Geiger made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:58 p.m. Erin Shackelford seconded. Motion Carried (5-0)		(Adjourn)
Sheila Marriott, Clerk of the Board Date		